Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Yamaha 250 Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2013, 11:54 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yamaha 250 Help

Hello All. Bit of a newbie here. 6 months ago I bought a Yamaha 250 used and was told it was a Bear Tracker. Over the last few months of weekend riding it's become harder and harder to get it started so I figured it's probablly a carb problem. So I ordered a carb rebuild kit with what I was thinking was the correct year, make and model. When I get the carb kit I found it didn't match the carb that I have. So I found the model number (1P01-010) of the ATV near the gas tank under the seat and searching that number online I find a manual and find out it's a 05 Yamaha Bruin 250. Looking at the parts breakdown of the carb in the manual I can see the one in the picture doesn't match the one I have either. Everything else in the manual seems to match, just not the carb. So I start looking online and find an entire carb that matches what I have and is relatively cheap ($93 Ebay). The carb is from a 400 Big Bear and order it. Now I know that the motor on my ATV is a 250 but I order this carb anyway. Get it in and it's looks exactly the same. I install the brand new carb and I eventually got it started. When I push the throttle the motor revs until I pass about 1/3 throttle and then it starts to die out like it looses gas or something. I checked the throttle linkage and the thumb throttle is pulling the carb open all the way. Anyone have any ideas? Any help would be greatly appreciated. The carb was bought from Zoom Zoom Parts model number ZZP-KD783741. I didn't adjust anything on the new carb, I left it as it was

Old 05-15-2013, 09:21 AM
Pro Rider
I ride, because football, basketball, and baseball only uses one ball!