Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

My Name Says It All

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2001, 02:36 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Raptors Suck,,, no kidding,,,this is not a flame or anything.. I own one and I hate it. Its funny to think back 3-4 months ago, when this forum was, "NEW KING OF THE HILL" "RAPTOR BEATS BANSHEE". I know you all remember that talk, thats what talked me into buying mine. Now read the forums, "NOT WHAT THE MAGAZINES SAID THEY WERE" "NOT THAT FAST" and the sad thing is that its all true. Raptors cannot beat banshees. You guys are fooling yourselves. I know this from experience. I have been riding dirtbikes and quads for 16 years, so like most of you are saying now, no its not the rider. It the darn bike. I've been spanked by quadzillas, banshees, dirt bikes galore, and of course the 250r's. Dunes and dirt. Sure, us big bore 4 stroke guys get them off the line with a good launch, considering if we can keep the stupid front ends down enough, but halfway up the hill, its over. I've tried modifying my bike, dual intake, pipes, jetting, etc. and it has never ran as good as it did stock. To be honest, with all of my mods, I raced a stock raptor up a hill at the dunes, and half way up, he fricken pulled past me. My bike has nothing. I have a $8000 toy that is suppose to be sooooo baddddd and it sucks. No one knows how to jet and intake these bikes. Its trial and error. What works for my buddies doesn't work for me and vice versa. If anything, I'm putting mine back to stock and be patient until someone really makes these craptors run like they are suppose to. Yah, big bore kit,,thats what you are all saying now, well, its already the biggest, now you want me to drop $3000 on a big bore kit and probably another 2 g's on accesories to get it to run right???? Its not worth it guys, if you want to go fast, build a stroke for what we paid for our "stock" bikes and go to the hill, and punish us poor 4 stroke folks to death, because that