Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Got it stuck

Old 01-07-2008, 03:00 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got it stuck

Recently went riding in some pretty wet and muddy conditions. Im not that experienced with the maintnence of quads. went with a buddy of mine who thinks he is experienced and he was going through some deep water and I was avoiding it so i wouldnt get stuck or cause any damage and then he got stuck like 3 times had to pull him out and it was pretty easy to do so. after that I started getting more agressive and taking on bigger puddles (I guess u could say they where puddles) after about an hour and a half of riding we were heading back for a break and i went through a puddle I knew I shouldnt have and it didnt get stuck it was just moving pretty slow and he told me earlier to not let it stall out ... but it ended up stalling out then he pulled me out and it wouldnt fire up ... the water was up to the tail pipe but the tail pipe never went under ... my question is besides draining the oil changing the filter popping the plug and blowing it out checking the drainage areas is there anything else i should do to this bike for possible water damage that i havent already done the bike fires up and runs fine but like i said im not that experienced and dont want to do long term damage... any advice would be greatly appreciated sorry about the drawn out story

Old 01-07-2008, 03:01 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default Got it stuck

Sorry didnt tell you the bike is a 2006 yamaha wolverine 450.. thanks

Old 01-07-2008, 03:19 PM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider
God forbid he lets the polishing secret out!
Default Got it stuck

If the pipe never went under how did the water get into the engine? Usually the air intake for both air box and belt housing are mounted higher than the tail pipe.

Old 01-07-2008, 04:02 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Got it stuck