Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

1985 LT250EF Won't Start Please Help ASAP

Old 08-15-2014, 10:58 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 LT250EF Won't Start Please Help ASAP

So, I started as a technician working on jet engines through the army and I have expanded my knowledge on my own to diesel and gas engines, etc.. However I have no experience with carburetors or 2-stroke/4-stroke engines. About a year ago I got a quad for free from a guy I was chatting with at Autozone when buying a few parts for my truck. He was moving and had no place to put it. This was up in Colorado as well. Well, I went and picked it up and it took a little while to get it to start, Had to coerce it with electric start and some brake cleaner. After that it ran great. Well, I had to store it outside under a tarp for the winter and from there I let it run till it ran out of gas and then stored it. During winter I moved to Kansas. I tried getting it to start at the beginning of summer but could not. I recently totaled my truck and need to get it started asap So I can go back and forth to work till I get some cash saved up.

Needless to say I drained the fuel, added new gas, made sure battery was charged. I am almost positive I get spark. But, I can get it to start with a spray of brake cleaner into the air filter compartment. However throttle was stuck when I tried the other day, I got it to move eventually. If I am not mistaken, this would be a carb issue not pushing enough fuel? How do I disassemble it and clean it and How is reassembly? does everything need to be measured?

Old 08-15-2014, 03:18 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts