Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

1985 Suzuki lt250r Engine running problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2010, 07:19 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 Suzuki lt250r Engine running problem

As the title suggests i have a 1985 Suzuki lt250r. I have it running with a compresion of 150 and spark, and the carb seems to work, but maybe not. My problem is that at low rpm's it is very "poppy" and "boggy." Once it gets to higher rpm's it has it's nice power back and throttle response, Any ideas? Im still learning hear so thanks for input.

Old 10-20-2010, 07:47 PM
2 strokes or 4

Are you familiar with 2 strokes in general? Poppy is kind of how they are at low rpms and boggy could be a few things. From a clogged idle jet to your premix to a fouled plug, cracked reeds or it might be running like it should without being there it's hard to tell. Also different expansion chambers will make it run different. The 2 strokes basically need to be revving all the time that's how it's designed it's not meant to be lugged or moped around like a four stroke. Fyi anything under 150 psi could use a rebuild which is real easy on a 2 stroke. Are you using fresh premix and a new spark plug?

Old 10-20-2010, 07:53 PM
Trailblazer

Hasn't been rebuilt yet, so 150 i thought was pretty good. Rebuilds do cost a buck so i wanted to avoid that. I had the cab professionally cleaned and than it quit running so i di a mediocre cleaning that made it work again, it seemed clean though. if it is the needed maybe, how do you clean that. Could it be bad spring that surrounds it? The premix is 32:1. It is supposed to be 20:1 but modern synthetic oil should mean i had to use less. By the way full throttle takes about 3 seconds to kick in. Thank you. Also it will not start even after a long run without chock on.

Last edited by lemon4879; 10-20-2010 at 08:11 PM. Reason: forgot a detail
Old 10-20-2010, 08:21 PM
2 strokes or 4