Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

LT80 Starting Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2010, 03:42 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT80 Starting Problem

Hi from newbie,

About a month ago I bought my kids a used LT80. Great little machine, but soon started developing a problem starting it.

I am a real novice at this so please bear with me - any help you can provide will be much appreciated. I will try to describe...

The engine turns over fine. I normally use another battery to jump it which is kept fully charged - so think iI can eliminate battery.

I get an ok spark at the plug - so I guess electrics are good. Spark plug looks ok - no build up of oil reside - but is dry - ie. no unburnt fuel.

Problem really started after fuel tank ran dry. Led me to think could be blockage in carb. Took carb off and cleaned (in a very amature way). Some debris but not too bad.

Fuel comes down frm tank freely when fuel switch on prime - but no fuel comes out when on other two positions. Is this the problem?

Haven't done compression test yet. Is this the next step?

Please help
D.

Old 08-30-2010, 08:32 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Welcome to the forums.
It's a vaccum operated petcock. It won't flow till the motor turns over.
Did you remove both jets and the float needle and seat and clean all well?
Try sticking 2 fingers in front of the carb to hand choke it.
Checking the compression wouldn't hurt.

Old 08-30-2010, 09:00 AM
Weekend Warrior

to test the compresson if u dont have a tester put ur finger in the plug hole when u turn it over it should suck ur finger tight then push and you can tell if it has enough to run if you have the skill to make it that far youll tell but sounds like a dirty jet

Old 08-30-2010, 03:17 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks very much for your responses.
I tried turning the engine over while checking the petcock - and there was no flow - do I need to replace it?