Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

opt need help with 94 polaris 400L 2 stroke

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2014, 05:39 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default opt need help with 94 polaris 400L 2 stroke

i was told to come here and ask for you......i have a 94 400L two stroke that i bought....i am not a atv mechanic but i work on small engines and cars...it only runs for a few seconds and quits...usually starts again on first pull...with or with out choke...i had someone look at it and say needs carb kit...so i had that put in....then was told low compression...so i had it honed and rings put in...has 120 psi...the only way it runs is to crank the idle screw all the way in...then it sputters for 10 seconds and dies...rubbers are good...i set the long brass jet from 3 to 4 to 5 then 6 at top...runs same. i cked veins...one looked like it had space..i turned it around..and cleaned...plenty of fuel flow...has spark im at a loss...someone also said put had over carb...see if it sucks in good...so i did that...pulls my hand on hard and will pull gas from float bowl....new spark plug...someone did put a toggle switch on i think its the cdi box? black wire i think but it makes no difference if its on or off...runs same..

Old 08-12-2014, 09:12 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts