Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Please help, I am new to this sport and have a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2002, 11:35 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Like i said I am way new to this sport. I bought my first bike(2002 400EX) on thursday and the only bike i have ridden before this is a 99 kodiak. Anyways to my questions. What do new handle bars do? are they just lighter? ARe there quiet pipes that perform as well as the others? WHat exactley are 440 kits? hmmmm can't think of anymore right now but i am sure i will have more in time. thanks for all the info you could give me.

Steve

Old 07-29-2002, 12:41 AM
Pro Rider

Differemt handlebars are lighter more often than not they are stronger and reduce arm pump because they are usually made of different materials than the stockers. A 440 kit is a bigger bore kit for the 400 ex that raises it to a 440cc hence 440ex not sure about any other parts that come on a 440 kit since well I dont have a 440 kit.

Old 07-29-2002, 09:23 AM
Range Rover

Steve, another thing with the aftermarket handlebars besides being lighter is that you can pick from dozens of different bend patterns, and this too can also help prevent the arm fatigue that BornBanshee was talking about. You can get bars that are wider, narrower, taller, shorter, etc. For instance, I use Quadracer 250 bend Renthals on my 400 now, which feel fine. A couple of my buddies run Mini bars, CR80, RM80, etc Renthals. This may or may not be a big deal regarding how comfortable you are on the machine.