Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Help with cranking aTRX300

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2010, 02:47 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help with cranking aTRX300

Hi,
A friend gave us a 1990 HOnda TRX300, Fourtrax 300.
It's been sitting inside a garage for 3 or 4 years. Body has been well cared for and they said it was serviced right before their grandkids quit riding it. So, I think it's not been abused and has been kept up until they just left it sitting.
Now...
I put a new battery on it, it tries to turn over but I don't smell gas. The fuel shut off is turned to on. I flipped up this "decompress" lever (whatever that does). it automatically flips back down.
I'm not a mechanic and I'm sure it would do well to just go to a mechanics shop. But I was looking for you guys help in maybe pointing me and my sons in the right troubleshooting direction. Father/son thing.
Needs new airfilter yes.
Speaking of airfilters, I am used to priming an old truck of mine by taking the breather cover off and pouring a lil gas into into the carb. But, (my first atv here), the carb and air inlet are under the seat and obviously you can't pour gas sideways to prime it. (stop laughing...haha)
Any constructive thoughts or anything I can do to get this thing cranked and goin?
Thanks!
Mark

Old 07-11-2010, 04:23 PM
2 strokes or 4