Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Why does my 400ex feel weaker?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2009, 10:41 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Why does my 400ex feel weaker?

Today I noticed that my quad feels much weaker than before. By weak, I mean it's torque is really low. I haven't done much to the quad except fill the tank with Premium gas today and clean the air filter. Any clue what it is? This is my first time running on Premium gas so I don't know if the gas affects it.

P.S. I also noticed today that my clutch is fairly hard to pull in.

Old 08-24-2009, 08:24 AM
Pro Rider
Lets Ride!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by momo951
Today I noticed that my quad feels much weaker than before. By weak, I mean it's torque is really low. I haven't done much to the quad except fill the tank with Premium gas today and clean the air filter. Any clue what it is? This is my first time running on Premium gas so I don't know if the gas affects it.

P.S. I also noticed today that my clutch is fairly hard to pull in.
I don't think running premium gas is causing your problem. I believe the stock 400ex compression is 9.1:1 or something like that so it should run fine on premium. You may not need it, but it won't hurt.

You say the clutch feels slightly off suddenly? If the clutch is slipping that will greatly impact your torque getting to the rear wheels. I would try adjusting the clutch to see if anything changes.

Old 08-24-2009, 08:43 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!

Read your owner's manual! Mine says it REQUIRES 92 octane or greater!!!

Folks who base octane on compression alone are simpletons. There is way more involved in what octane you need, besides just compression. Things like is it air cooled so it runs hot, valve overlap, etc., etc.