Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

2005 honda rancher fourtrax 350 shifting problem

Old 10-09-2006, 02:57 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 honda rancher fourtrax 350 shifting problem

Good afternoon folks!

My name is Chris. I am a firefighter in New York. I am new to quads and this forum.

I have a problem.

I purchased an 05 TRX350 Rancher for my wife (simple automatic foot shifting was the attraction).

I now cannot go through the forward gears.

I have reverse.

I tried to adjust the clutch as stated in the owner's manual, however, it did not work.

Could my fluid level be low? If so, how do I check it?

I don't see how the friction discs could be that worn in one year as to warrant replacement, however, I did work this little guy well in the past year.

Is this a common maintenance issue with these quads?

Could over-revving in a low gear contribute to this problem? (It took my wife some time to understand the mechanics of this nice little quad).

I bought this quad new from an insurance buy out from a dealer that had Hurricane Katrina damage last year. I received a decent discount, however, all warranties are out the window when you buy any new vehicle that is classified as salvage. There was no water damage to this quad (water up to the rims...that?s it). I do not know of any recalls and, since I live in NY, I will most likely get bopped over the head with a big bill. I am pretty handy in the workshop, and would consider working on it.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Sorry for this novel, I just want to make sure I have tried everything possible before I go to the local shop backwards ;-).

Take care.

Chris

Old 10-09-2006, 11:17 PM
Pro Rider

ok-this is interesting because it's a foot-shifted one, not known to have ANY problems at all. The electric-shift ones are the ones that have the problems...