Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Honda 250 Recon idle screw

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2005, 03:55 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honda 250 Recon idle screw

Hi, this is a dumb question but I'm still new to this 4 wheeler stuff. I got a little more idle out of the adjuster on the throttle cable but I need more idle and can't find anything on the motor that looks like an idle screw. When plowing snow in the cold it seems to need a tad more idle.

Thanks

Old 01-23-2005, 04:39 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the idle screw is on the side of the carb, on the right (i think) side. the pilot screw is kind of under the float bowl, and is a real bugger/hand-burner to get at. the idle screw is easy. it's really the only big one you'll see on the right side. pretty sure it's just a slot screw.

Old 01-23-2005, 06:09 AM
Pro Rider

You don't adjust the idle at the throttle cable. If you can do that, your cable is too tight. You need some play in the throttle lever. Otherwise it's possible when you turn the handlebars it can pull the cable and make your machine take off when you may not want it too. Confused buyer is right, there is both an idle speed and a slow mixture adjustment screw. Use those for adjustments.

Old 01-23-2005, 10:15 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks guys, I'll put the throttle cable adjustment back the way it was, somebody showed me how to adjust that for more idle, they probably didn't know either. I see a slotted screw on the right side of the carb, I'll mess with it the next time I fire it up.

Old 01-24-2005, 03:47 AM
Pro Rider