General RUV / UTV Discussion Discussions about Gators, Mules, Rangers, Rhinos and other off-road recreational vehicles.

UTV or Jeep?

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2008, 09:58 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UTV or Jeep?

Hey ya'll, I'm a newb to recreational 4x4 riding, and would like to get some opinions. I'm a long time motorcycle rider, and 4x4 on-road driver (think snow...), but relatively new to off-road. We moved to the desert a year ago, and I'm itching to do more exploration on the endless dirt roads out here. I've been beating the snot out of the family Surburban, and that's got to stop before I completely destroy it. So I'm trying to figure out what to buy.

My options at this point seem to be a UTV, or a Jeep of some sort. I can get a decent used jeep in the $5K to $10K range. A new UTV is going to set me back some $15K to get it set up the way I want it (full roll cage, and rear seat.) Now I know the UTV will be a ball in the back county. But there are also places that I'd have to trailer it to. Plus it has no heat, and no AC.

If I get a Jeep, I can drive anywhere in the southwest, and use it on the trails when I get there. And I can throw the family in it and ride in comfort, better wind protection, and carry more gear. I guess my question is which is the better vehicle for desert exploration? Which will be more reliable? I'll be riding most of the time by myself. I know that's probably a no-no, but that's just how it is.

Any comments, opinions, and other insights would be welcome. Thanks!

Old 03-04-2008, 07:37 AM
Trailblazer
Default UTV or Jeep?

thats whats i was thinking also. a new ranger crew is 12 out the door and a used jeep is the same.

Old 03-04-2008, 11:42 AM
Pro Rider
Default UTV or Jeep?