1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

E-ton Sierra DXL starter/starting issues for a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2013, 06:57 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E-ton Sierra DXL starter/starting issues for a newbie

Typical story. Picked this up for the right price(good thing, cause I have no budget for this one right before Christmas).
Be patient with me, I'm new to digging into an ATV.
No start/no run. May have some issues with the multifunction switch, but I'll worry about that down the road.
Has electric and kick start, with kickstart will not run, but at least has compression, so I feel ok about spending some time/effort in this beast, it'll work for the wife, and kid when he get s a little older.

When trying to start with the electric starter, I get the sound of teeth bouncing off teeth, but not grabbing. I was hoping for worn down teeth on the starter, but after finally getting that out, looks like it's not the case.
My starter is what I would assume is standard for the chinese budget atvs
Name:  starter_zps0b9e5693.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  13.1 KB

(I will post actual pics later if needed)
Pulled the starter, works fine on the bench, spins at speed, no wobble, teeth don't seem to be badly worn, I assume this is a fixed style, and not the bendix style that will push farther out at speed.
Now checking out the mating side inside the atv, the teeth do seem to be more worn on the large gear which appears to be the one it should be meshing with. This also has some play in it, more than I would expect, maybe only a /32nd or so, but it is def play when wiggled.
Safe to assume then I guess that starter gear internally would need to be replaced?