1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

Dinli Helix 90cc Bad CDI? No spark.

Old 08-14-2011, 03:44 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dinli Helix 90cc Bad CDI? No spark.

Ok so im new to all this hooplaa. I recently picked up an Old dinli helix from my friend to fix up. And ever since I have gotten it there is no spark coming from the spark plug. Got a new plug and it didnt work. Got a new coil, and it didnt work. So i went online to research a bit. And i came across http://www.dinlisales.com/docs/Dinli...em%20Tests.pdf which states that certain cdi outputs should read certain volts when you test them, and i'm assuming when you test them your trying to kick start. But it seems as though my black wire is getting much higher volts then my orange wire (my orange one connects directly to my ignition coil.)Is my cdi unit kick the bucket or could it be something else?

Old 08-14-2011, 10:48 PM
Electrical Expert
Likes High Voltage In The Tub!
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

I have never seen a Dinli so I don't know the answer to your questions. Thanks for posting the testing procedure link. I haven't seen that before either.

If you don't have an electric start then I would also assume that you would measure the AC voltages while kick starting. Whether the engine turns with electrical power or from you burning carbohydrates doesn't matter. It just seems to me that the starter motor would be able to maintain a more constant speed for more repeatable results.