Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Beginner Quad

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2014, 07:06 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Elpatchi
Same here I'm a newbie but I'm thinking of getting a Yamaha raptor 700 on Craigslist for 3200 I would check craigslist but beware of scams (Western Union)
Elpatchi,

Yeah, I am still hesitant when it comes to Craigslist. I don't want to get screwed over, but dealership prices are very friendly with my budget.

Old 07-21-2014, 09:18 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

buying a local quad on CL is like buying a car minus more and more paperwork. you can go up to the quad, start it, drive it, then decide whether to haggle or not. the scams on CL are fairly obvious. usually a funky price that's way too low for something that new,etc.....contact via email only, area code on phone number from somewhere not local to the viewed CL ad. i've bought quite a few on CL with no issues as i go to the quad to look it over and evaluate it.

Old 07-22-2014, 10:52 AM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider
God forbid he lets the polishing secret out!

I only buy used, 5 so far and never bough a bad one yet. Kind of hard to hide broken even on a short ride around the yard.

Once it leaves the showroom floor the ATV drops $1000 dollars.
Everyone on this forum is riding a used ATV that they like and its only a matter of time before they are up for sale.

Old 07-24-2014, 04:34 PM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by Jaster94