Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2009 articcat 400 2seater

Old 08-01-2009, 08:08 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 articcat 400 2seater

Just purchased 4 units. All 4 have axle issues-rear. 2 have broken belts. Riders are all adults riding on marked Utah trails at normal speeds. Has anyone else had issues with the auto 400 2 seat Artic cats. All have less than 500 miles.

Old 08-01-2009, 09:51 PM
Pro Rider
Does it in the Mud!

havent heard of any belt issues on the 400s,500s,700s or the 1000. the older 650s had some belt issues but not all of them,and were minor. Whats the deal with the axles?

Old 08-02-2009, 08:48 AM
Pro Rider
Cool

That's odd?

Out '08 TRV 650H1 has got over 950 miles on it w/no belt or axle issues - and both of us are.....ABOVE the "average" rider size and ride it in all types of terrain.

Now I'm no expert....but the drivelines from the 400 thru 700 are basically the same except for clutching and oil vs. liquid cooled. THe 1000 H2's are a completely different animal.

Now short of saying: "wow..sounds like you got set of TRV's with a bad batch of clutchs and rear axles"..................

Here's my thinking...................

I'm assuming these are rentals?

Are the belts breaking as a result of burning? I know that LOW&SLOW thru steep windey terrain - one SHOULD be in L especially w/2 riders. Being in H under these conditons will wreak havok on the belt.