Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

06 400 no spark?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2009, 04:37 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 400 no spark?

06 400 auto fis doesnt seem to have spark. dont know what to do.
Also, the starter wont try to crank when when i press the start button. took the starter out, put it on the battery and was fine.
Im not a super mechanic by any means so it is probably something very easy....lol

the battery is 2weeks old....
Thanks guys.

Old 06-09-2009, 09:23 PM
Pro Rider

Do your head lights work when you turn the ignition on or do yo have no power at all?

If you have lights and still no power to the starter there this a 30amp fuse that is on the starter selenoid. If is usually found under the right wheel well. It has the larger red cable connected to it from the battery and then another large wire (I think its red too) that goes to the starter. Check the fuse it is a green 30 amp.

You may also need to check the wiring harness along the steering column had two electrical plugs that can become pinched and unplug themselves. I had this ahppen when I had the wiring run for my winch.

Hope this helps.

SJ

Old 06-10-2009, 01:24 PM
Weekend Warrior

Yeah everything comes on. lights, fan, display...ok i will check that stuff. Is the selenoid fuse different from the ones under the seat next to the battery?

It was running great one day, just went through some little creeks and stuff then got back to the shop and it wouldnt start.

Old 06-10-2009, 02:03 PM
Weekend Warrior

i was just thinking, that may help the starter but what about spark? im gonna change the plug after work....but if that doesnt work idk. I think maybe i jacked up the plug in those creeks/ rivers..

also, is there another place to put transmition fluid in, or does it share with the engine oil? cuz it will hardly ever shift, you have to yank on it for like 20seconds to get it to go in or out of a gear.... tha nks

Old 06-11-2009, 12:42 PM