Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2001 arctic cat 250 2wd

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2009, 07:41 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 arctic cat 250 2wd

been looking at this site for a couple o weeks now and seems like some great people on here so i decided to register and ask a question, I bought a 01 cat on craigslist for a hundred bucks, it needs alot of work,the guy i bought it from seems to think that the cdi is bad, I know for sure the voltage regulator is shot, the wires are melted, it looks like he lost the key and bypassed, and rigged up a toggle switch to the seliond, motor has good compression and everything else seems to be fine, my question is does the cdi have to work to get the plug to spark, I know it has to work to run, sorry if this sounds stupid im kinda new at this...thanks..

Old 04-12-2009, 09:52 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2001 arctic cat 250 2wd

Originally Posted by rossj1971
been looking at this site for a couple o weeks now and seems like some great people on here so i decided to register and ask a question, I bought a 01 cat on craigslist for a hundred bucks, it needs alot of work,the guy i bought it from seems to think that the cdi is bad, I know for sure the voltage regulator is shot, the wires are melted, it looks like he lost the key and bypassed, and rigged up a toggle switch to the seliond, motor has good compression and everything else seems to be fine, my question is does the cdi have to work to get the plug to spark, I know it has to work to run, sorry if this sounds stupid im kinda new at this...thanks..