Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

My 05 500 4x4 is leaking gas everywhere!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2005, 09:15 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 05 500 4x4 is leaking gas everywhere!!

Hi,
I am BRAND NEW to this. I have two hours of riding under my belt as of today. I picked up a 400 and 500 cc Arctic Cat, the 500 is elec. select 4x4 and the 400 is the limited slip. I traded in my personal watercraft collection for them, and so far no regrets except one...

On the way home friday, I put a couple gallons of gas in each unit, and the 500 started leaking gas in my garage. I discovered that there was a recall on the 500's for this, but since mine is brand-new, I would have assumed the dealer put an updated tank on it, right?

The gas is coming from somewhere on the right side, and its coming down pretty good, just can't figure out WHERE its coming from, so I doubt the tank could already be defective anyway. I didn't find a fuel switch on it so I am going to call the dealer tomorrow, wondering if someone knew something before the gas fumes get too strong in my garage.

Otherwise, I was IMPRESSED at how well it handles, climbs, descends, turns, etc. I am going to like this sport!

Thanks
TD

Old 10-23-2005, 09:42 PM
Weekend Warrior

is the tank full of gas? If it is some time the vint line on the top of the tank pops off. this happend to me. i jus pulled a littel extra tube out befor i reconected it. have not had that problem agane. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 10-24-2005, 04:02 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

I was under the impression there was a recall on some of the gas tanks.

Old 10-24-2005, 10:31 AM
Range Rover

A buddy of mine has the same quad, 05 500. Yes there was a tank recall. He had to take his back to the dealer for a replcement. By now I would have guessed they would be in the new units, then again yours may have been in the create for a while...