Where to Ride Share info on your favorite riding spot or ask others where to ride.

Beginner trails in So. Calif.

Old 10-22-2003, 02:14 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner trails in So. Calif.

Hi!
Recently I purchased quads for myself and 8 year old daughter. I have been riding dual sport dirt bikes for years but I am new to this whole OHV thing. Since our daughter would like to start riding and she is limited to OHV areas I thought what the heck I'll give this quad thing a try. However, since all of our previous riding was on street legal forest service roads we have no idea where the best places would be to take her to teach her to ride. I know the ATV safety course would be a good place to start but we got her an 80 so they will not let her ride it in the class (even though she is almost too tall for it and it is restricited to ~10mph). We have seen listings of the OHV areas in So. California but I have not found a book or anything that gives road/trail ratings for these areas (or detailed maps showing all roads and trails, those forest service maps are very hard to read) We live in Irvine and would most likely be doing day trips, but weekend trips are a possibility. Any help would be much appreciated. We really would like to make this fun for the whole family.
Cheers,
Jill

Old 10-22-2003, 03:59 PM
Pro Rider

El Mirage is a good learning area it has everything you need. A flat lake bed to get here started and understand the controls. then easy trails all the way to more difficult trails. It's out by victorville in Adelanto. look it up and it's not that far from you. good for day trips and weekends.

Old 10-22-2003, 05:43 PM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to the sport! This is a great activity for the family!!