Hunting, Trapping, Game Management Discuss Bow and Fire Arm Hunting.

Using brown sugar as bait??

Old 08-27-2002, 07:49 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I was told today at work that deer will go crazy over brown suugar. I have never tried this ar even heard of it before and was just wondering if anyone on here has. If so please ghive a reply on how it works.

Old 08-27-2002, 07:55 PM
Pro Rider
Your friend needs to stop smoking whatever it is that is rotting his brain!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Don't know about brown sugar, what I have used for years,and works real good, is trace mineral salt block. It is basically a salt block with a small percentage of minerals in it,makes it brown,but it is solid like a salt block,so it lasts way longer. Even after it is gone,for months afterward,the deer keep coming back to paw and lick the dirt,the spot I used last summer is still torn up now. That way,they get salt and minerals they need to stay healthy all year round. Sugar would tend to draw flies and other critters,and would wash away the first rain you got.
Just my experience.

Old 08-28-2002, 07:29 PM
Pro Rider

Yeah thanks for the reply. I have just a rgular salt lick too, but I was just wondering about brown sugar.
I couldn't really believe the guy that told me because he is a nows everything, done verything, been everywhere kind os guy and is full of b/s stories.

Old 08-28-2002, 08:00 PM
Pro Rider

If you want to pump up the attraction to a salt or mineral lick, I've tried this stuff called Block Topper,it is a molasses mix with a mineral powder you put on a block.First you put the white mineral powder on,then dump the liquid,makes it foam all over,really sweet smelling,draws them in fast,then they keep coming back for the salt . Works great for a new site,gets the deer pulled in,then they know where the block is.

Old 08-31-2002, 12:30 AM
Pro Rider