Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Trail boss 250

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2011, 11:06 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Trail boss 250

I just bought a used trail boss 250 i believe it to be a 1988 res. I am planning on rebuilding it. I want to try to do this as cheap as possible i have ran into a few items that i need. I am new to this forum and thought that there might be some people on here that might be able to help me out. found out the recoil spring on the pull start is broken and the started just click could be the brushes need cleaned or the solenoids busted. i do not know if the atv runs but i do know the piston moves freely in the cylinder. the one exhaust mount is broken along with the upper engine mount and every cable and hose needs replacing. i am new and if this is posted incorrectly. but i could use help this is my first time rebuilding an atv.

Old 12-24-2011, 06:11 AM
Range Rover

You can try running battery voltage directly to the starter to bypass the solonoid, that will tell you if it is the starter or the solonoid. If the starter is not working, you might get by cleaning it, brush kits can be bought pretty reasonable on ebay. The cables and most parts are usually available on there too. I'd be careful not to wrap too much cash up in it unless you are in love with the machine as there is not alot of value to them anymore. If you can get it to turn over with the starter, check your compression, needs to be at least 100 psi to run right. You will also likely need to clean the carburetor or rebuild it, check your transmission oil as well, I got one of those awhile back that had the motor out, I made the mistake of putting the engine together and getting it running before I checked the oil in the trans....when I noticed it was empty, I added fluid...it ran out on the bench through the big hole in the bottom of the trans which someone had tried to weld with no luck....I junked the quad right there on the spot.