Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

CV boot and joint installation

Old 06-16-2011, 03:23 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CV boot and joint installation

Hi guys,
I need to change out my cv joint and boot (joint clicks when turning, and boot is ripped), so I need some instructions on how to do it. I've never done anything like this before so some step by step installation instructions would be great.

I found this joint kit on ebay: 2006-07 POLARIS SPORTSMAN 500 FRONT OUTER ATV CV JOINT | eBay. Is this what I need? If so do I need any special tools to install it?

My wheeler is a 2007 Polaris Sportsman 500 EFI Stealth.

Old 06-16-2011, 03:58 PM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

go under the expert section in the sticky and read the thread in how to do it.

Old 06-16-2011, 04:12 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

First off are you sure its just the outer cv joint and not the plunging joint also?? Just from my experience (and you can take it or leave it) I replaced only the outer cv on a couple machines and had em come back a little later with the plunging joint click clacking also! Then had to end up ordering the plunging joint which ended up costing more than if I had ordered the whole assembly to begin with! Just again this is what I encountered a couple times,after that I pulled the drive shafts and checked for any slack in BOTH the cv and plunging joint! This cost the customers more when bought separately and I learned after the second time on partial repair! As far as the kit should be ok,but a lot of guys haven't been satisfied with after market boots and the clamps. Most of the guys will probably say stay with the OEM boots?? Others will jump in and give their opinions I'm sure and you can decide which way to go! Good luck OPT

Old 06-16-2011, 08:47 PM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by old polaris tech