Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

03 400 Arctic Cat No Spark

Old 02-07-2011, 11:11 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 400 Arctic Cat No Spark

Hello,
I am new to this site, but not to motorsports or wrenching. I was a Field Service Technician on Lawn and Garden equipment for a large company, so troubleshooting is nothing new to me.

Here is the problem: I am not getting any spark on my 2003 Arctic Cat 400 4x4 FIS Auto.

Saturday I started it, let it warm up, drove about 100 yards, put it in neutral and let it idle while I was off starting a tractor. I did not hear the ATV die, since I was starting the tractor. When I got back to the ATV, it was dead.

When I tried to restart it, there was no spark.

I moved it to the shop since it is FREEZING here and to make sure there wasn't any moisture issues (we had a foot of snow).

On troubleshooting, I found that the coil appears OK, but the resistance is a little out of range. It should be .4 - .6 Ohms. It reads .64 Ohms. I wouldn't think that is too far off.

The input from the CDI to the coil should read 35V +/- 20% and rise to 135V +/- 20% when the Starter button is depressed.
It reads 410 V with the key on and doesn't change when the Starter button is depressed.
With the key off, it reads about the same 410V but bleeds down to 0 in the course of less than a minute.

I borrowed a coil off a different machine and still didn't get spark.

Is this a problem with the CDI or is there something else I should look at. The manual tells me to replace the CDI, but I don't have any spares laying around (pun intended)
What would be the best After-market CDI to go with?

Never too proud to ask for help,
Grant

Old 02-07-2011, 03:46 PM
Trailblazer