Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Polaris trailboss 250 4x2 help

Old 01-14-2011, 09:49 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polaris trailboss 250 4x2 help

Hello Everyone, I just picked up an older Polaris TrailBoss 250cc today. I'm not new to ATVs however I'm new to 250's as well as Polaris. Before this I had a 150cc and 90cc e-ton just to toy around on. This is alot differant than my e-ton. Not sure where to start. I picked it up for a good price reason being is it needs some work. It runs/drives but needs some tlc.

Number 1. It came with junk front tires they're flat and don't look the right size. Does anyone know the factory front tire size so I can go out tomorrow and look for some.

Number 2. It seems to smoke a lot, I know it's a 2-stroke and they smoke but it has more than I've ever had it smokes out of the exhaust.. It has old fuel and possibly is mixed with too much oil but still seems like a tad too much.. What might cause this? Rmember, Im new to 250's so be easy on me haha. It seems like at one time it had a seperate 2-stroke oil res and someone converted it to pre-mix. What is correct mixture, 32:1?

Number 3. I plan to clean the carb out tomorrow is there anything I should expect that may be differant than a 50-110cc style carb, aside from bigger size obviously.

Finally Number 3. (this is a 2 part question) There is no battery however it has pull start. Do I need a battery for the lights to work (I would think yes but just wondering). Does it hurt/put strain on electrical system to run the quad without a battery?

I'll post some pics of it tomorrow! It's not a new sportsman or anything but I'm hopeing to get it running to par! Any help appreciated.

Thanks everyone,
Mike

Old 01-14-2011, 10:02 PM
Trailblazer