1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

Roketa ATV-02 250 no spark

Old 08-28-2010, 01:18 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Roketa ATV-02 250 no spark

Morning everyone,
Little bit of history if you care otherwise skip to the problem.
I just picked up a Roketa 250cc 2 wheel drive 4wheeler from a friend. He put about 40 miles on it (yes very low milage) and said he could never start it after that. It had sat in his garage for about 3 years. I replaced the gas and cleaned out the lines, checked the spark and had a some. Ran the wheeler down the road about 1/2 mile, pulled into my garage and it died. I tried to restart with no luck. Check the spark and guess what...no spark. I am new to ATV's, and have a little engine experience. I have done some reading out at roketaonlineparts.com in thier troubleshooting guide and found out about the three things that "could" be wrong.

Problem: No Spark.
I have removed and replaced the CDI, still no spark.
I have removed and replaced the coil, still no spark.
I have replaced the spark plug, still no spark. I have the kill switch set to "run" still no spark.

When the kill switch is in the off position it won't even turn over. I am capable of changin out the Stator, but would like to get more information before starting.

5 pin CDI

your time and advise is mucho mucho appreciated.

Lefte in the great, soon to be white, flat, North of Dakota.

Old 08-28-2010, 09:57 PM
Electrical Expert
Likes High Voltage In The Tub!
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Your CDI is 5 pin? Like this?

Name:  50cc-cdi.jpg
Views: 4057
Size:  19.2 KB

The wiring diagram I have for a roketa 250cc shows a six pin DC powered CDI that looks more like this:

Name:  CDI_Pinout.jpg
Views: 4918
Size:  27.7 KB

Lets figure which CDI first, and once we know that then make some ignition system measurements to see why you have no spark.

Old 08-28-2010, 11:25 PM
Range Rover