General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Fuel Tank Vent Tube Purpose?

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2010, 10:20 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Tank Vent Tube Purpose?

I'm new to ATV's, and these may seem like silly questions, but ...

Why does my Honda Rincon ATV have a vent tube coming out of the fuel tank cap?

The non-fuel tank end of the tube goes into the ATV's dashboard ... Why? What does it do there?

I've searched the web using all sorts of different terms - vent, breather, fuel cap, gas cap, ... and I can't find any information about why the tube is there. I even purchased the service manual, but still no clear information there.

I don't find such a tube in any of my other engine-driven vehicles (cars, tractors), so it makes me wonder if its not so much for allowing air to get into the fuel tank (thus reducing the vacuum that might form as fuel is used), but maybe more related to preventing of a fuel spill if the ATV rolls.

Thanks,

Ken

Old 01-17-2010, 10:38 AM
Range Rover

think you answered your own question,my Rancher has one to.

Old 01-17-2010, 10:49 AM
Range Rover

Originally Posted by KennK
I don't find such a tube in any of my other engine-driven vehicles (cars, tractors), so it makes me wonder if its not so much for allowing air to get into the fuel tank (thus reducing the vacuum that might form as fuel is used), but maybe more related to preventing of a fuel spill if the ATV rolls.
Yep thats exactly why its there.
The tub over it is to really prevent dirt from getting in and if anything comes out it will keep it off your plastic.

Old 01-17-2010, 11:11 AM
Weekend Warrior