Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

manual to electric shift engine swap

Old 07-24-2009, 10:37 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default manual to electric shift engine swap

has anyone ever tried swapping out a manual shift with an electric shift engine? The reason why I ask is because the manual shift has a few bad gears and I can get the electric for next to nothing. The only problem I see is adapting the existing foot shifter to the emergency foot shift peg on the electric shift motor. I think I can get around the electric shift by just not using it and sealing the wires off from water. Are there any other ECM or fit issues I am not thinking of? Thanks.

Old 07-24-2009, 11:24 PM
Weekend Warrior

somebody?...anybody?

Old 07-27-2009, 09:06 AM
Pro Rider

I'm no expert by any means but I "think" that the emergency shift on the ESP models is intended just for that....emergency shifting. It's supposed to get you back to where you started in the event that the shift motor sensor goes bad and is not meant for full time shifting.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge will reply.

I also think you will need all the associated electronics that go with the ESP engine...including the ECM.

Old 07-27-2009, 11:13 AM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider
God forbid he lets the polishing secret out!

The reason why I ask is because the manual shift has a few bad gears
The ES system is just a different method of choosing gears with your thumb rather then your foot, but they both used the same gears.

If your foot shift has bad gears the the ES will being using those same bad gears as well.

Old 07-27-2009, 12:52 PM
Trailblazer
Full Time DAD!

Originally Posted by TLC
The ES system is just a different method of choosing gears with your thumb rather then your foot, but they both used the same gears.

If your foot shift has bad gears the the ES will being using those same bad gears as well.