Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Buying a new quad: Finance or not?

Old 03-17-2009, 10:46 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying a new quad: Finance or not?

This is my first post here...

But lately ive been out riding alot more on my dad's rancher 350 4x4 just to keep up wiht my buddies foremans and can ams and what not....

Well the bug has bit me and i must say, i want a new quad.... I love my buddies can am outtie 800.... i mean LOVE.... but ive also thought i cant really afford it so ive looked seriously at the 600 outtie, bruteforce 650 or 750....

So here is my dilemma, im a college student but i work construction as well... i pull maybe 1600 a month? I also have truck payments running me about 265 a month..

Ok so here is my thing... i got the itch, im very impatient and i dont know HOW long it would take me to save the money to pay for a quad in full so im really seriously thinking about financing.I have a 1997 honda fourtrax 300 2x4 in FLAWLESS shape. I could trade that and stick 1000 on top of it for a down payment of idk 2500? At least i figured i could get 1500 on my quad for a trade... idk

SO im wondering, do you believe financing would be a bad idea??? I think i can afford it but i just dont know what kind of payments id be looking at if i did finance??? figuring putting down 2000 or so on one then getting a loan with a FIXED apr... is this feasible thru a dealer???

I also have to ask about what a new can am 650 or brute would run me after taxes??

SO here are the questions i need answered i guess...

1) Brute 650 or can am 650, which is the better deal? I do alot of mudding and heavy trail ridng but im also a hardcore bowhunter so it will drag deer out on occasions and maybe pull implements for foodploting.. I dont just want to know which one may perform better, but which one is the best DEAL... like if one is more affordable than the other