Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

05 HONDA FOREMAN RUBICON STALLING/OVERHEATING PROBLEMS

Old 11-26-2008, 11:28 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 HONDA FOREMAN RUBICON STALLING/OVERHEATING PROBLEMS

Hello, this is my first post. This looks like a great forum with knowledgeable people and am looking forward to the interaction and help. I have an 05 Honda Foreman Rubicon 4x4 that I bought new Jan 06. The very first trip I took it out on it was overheating and the red light was coming on. This was at night and 40-50 max degrees, primarily was overheating while engine braking down hills (letting the engine keep my speed maintaned at lower gears). I am not a mechanic but know there is a problem. This did this the entire 5 day trip, the first time I drove it. Also when going up or down steep hills the engine would act like it was fllooding by stalling, has 0 power and sounded like a deisel engine when I gave it throttle. This almost left me stranded a few times. If it didn't die it would come close and would have to turn off engine and re-start. A couple times I was down a steep hill and it would not start for about 45 minutes and battery almost died trying to get it started. I would smell gas while this happened. Mind you this is a BRAND NEW ATV. Just by driving the quad the engine on my lower body just felt very hot and smelled too hot and did not seem correct.