Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Newbie: Polaris 500 ho stalls, no 4wd in reverse

Old 05-14-2008, 12:03 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie: Polaris 500 ho stalls, no 4wd in reverse

Hello

I am new to the hobby and have been driving my machine every night for an hour for two weeks straight. I let the machine warm up for about five minutes, ( because if I don't then when I switch gears it stalls) I drive it through trails but tonight I ended up at a dead end. I did the three point turn (okay seven point turn) through some serious mud. The quad would stall after changing from Hi to reverse and reverse to Hi. I put it into reverse to get out of this jam and it wouldn't move. I noticed that all four wheels didn't turn in reverse. Just the back two. Is this normal? I had to really fight my way out of there. If I don't have 4wd in reverse then I could be in big trouble if I get really stuck. My display shows the four wheel drive option in reverse therefore it should have this feature in reverse. or am I wrong. Thanks in advance for your help. Whats with this stalling crap?

thanks jeff

Old 05-14-2008, 12:13 AM
Pro Rider

are you holding in the reverse override when in reverse? you have to hold in the override when in reverse to have awd.

Old 05-14-2008, 12:46 AM
Pro Rider

Right, the Reverse Override Button is the yellow button on the left handlebar control below the kill switch. Without holding it in, you won't have AWD and you won't be able to rev more than 3,000 RPM or so.

And your engine probably dies out because the ETC (Electronic Throttle Control) kicks in. This is probably due to too much slack in your throttle cable. Adjust the slack so there is 1/8" play and see if that helps.

What year ATV?

Old 05-14-2008, 02:08 AM
Moto Psycho
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If it shows 4x4 in the display when you hold the rev limiter in, that means the switch works but it's not engaging for some reason. No idea why. Sorry.