Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Help ID Moto 4 please, also, transmission problem?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2007, 10:03 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help ID Moto 4 please, also, transmission problem?

Hi, I am new to the 4 wheeler world. This old Yamaha Moto-4 came into my posession recently. (See pictures) I know nothing about four wheelers but do a fair amount of automotive repair.

Moto4_1.jpg
Moto4_2.jpg
Moto4_3.jpg

The motor runs pretty good but I believe the transmission is broken. No matter what gear you have it in the unit can be rolled freely and engine doesn't power anything. I pulled back the boot over the u-joint and it doesn't turn with the engine.

When I elevate the rear end and turn the wheels I can hear a chain or gears inside the rear end turning. Which makes me think the rear end is ok?

Can anyone give me some advice? Are there certain likely parts that have failed that I can check and possibly replace or repair? My budget can't constitute spending a lot of money on this old junker but I do enjoy tinkering on things like this. I have acquaintences who repair ATV's that if I need a certain part I can ask if they might have something second hand kicking around but I don't want to go asking for advice on a bunch of stuff.

Lastly, can anyone ID the unit for me. I don't know what year or what it's specifications are. The engine says 1500cm3 on it. I don't know where else to find ID tags or info.

Old 06-11-2007, 03:07 AM
Pro Rider
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'll give you a few things you can try.

First make sure the sub transmission is in gear. The sub transmission is one you shift with your left hand near the motor. (not the foot shifter). It should have High, Low and Rev.