Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Z400 oil change question

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2006, 01:08 PM
Pro Rider
Has Been Around Here Quite Awhile!
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Z400 oil change question

Hey Guys, Just got me a 06 White z400. I like it better than my 06 honda 450R. There's just no comparision in the detail from a Honda to a Suzuki.
One question. I'm new to this oil tank Dry sump thing. After I drain all the oil from both the tank and engine, do I add all 2.2 quarts to just the tank or do I add some to the engine till it comes out the check hole . The owners manual is really confusioning on this part. If it sits a while according to the owners manual the tank will fill with oil. I would think that the engine would fill up but the manual says the tank and to check the engine by checking the over flow screw. IT says to check the engine before starting, if it's set for over a week, but dosent say what to do if none leaks out. It says if none leaks out to take it to the dealer!!!
What do you guys do? I dont want to start it up till I know it's not going to ruin this Awesome High performance machine. I'd take this one over a450R![img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Old 12-22-2006, 03:17 PM
Pro Rider
Lets Ride!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well I don't have my manual in front of me so I cannot remember exactly what is says......

But as far as I've ever done I always just fill the tank......... As far as I know it will all go into the engine until a certain level is reached........

I will tell you to pour slowly and wait a few seconds between the 1st and 2nd quart. The tank will fill up pretty quickly but it takes a little time for it to drain back into the engine.......