Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

1985 LT250E Questions. Newbie Here

Old 11-15-2006, 01:04 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 LT250E Questions. Newbie Here

Hey guys,

I just got a 1985 LT250E handed to me for free. It's in need of some work, which I am not a stranger to, but this is my 1st ATV. Anyway I have a few questions for you guys. So far I know the wiring harness is pretty much junk, so I have been going though that wire by wire and replacing what is torn and otherwise messed up.

1. The starter...well this one is annoying me fully. The actual top post where the positive lead is connecting, that top post is acting as a very solid ground, no resistance at all. I took the starter out and cleaned it, played around. I have it all put back together correctly, and without the communior (spelling) installed (the middle peice that spins) all is well, it acts as a postive. However the second I place that peice back in the middle and get it seated, it grounds out again, whether or not the bottom is installed or not. So what can be done here? Do I need a new starter, or are there some tricks that I am overlooking?

2. The pull start system is screwed, the guy before me snapped all 3 bolts that hold the rope in, as well as lost the spring that winds it back. If I get the starter working I assume that I will not need this, it kinda like my back-up plan kick start on my bike. Is that correct?

3. The chock cable/ lever is gone, how important is this?

4. WTF is the decompressor lever for?

5. Regardless of key position the lights stay on...very odd, I can only get them off by taking about the battery. I suppose this plays into my junk wiring harness, but any thoughts? Will this accept a univeral NAPA ignition?